« PreviousContinue »
2 1 Une 1. ...1....r.' ~
' ’ \.\[1\5§.\POAG -' \‘ " ROTON
P 4” A \\é> ! ‘- ~ r \ .-__,___’_/ ¢ \ - ; \._--' r---r M T...-..
1 ' LEQAHAS - .
\ .-/‘-’ i. use \ 1'
"N¢y§_s‘ s u RV Eb).-I659
NASHAWAY, or Nashawog, in the Indian tongue,
means the place between, or land in 1/10 angle made by two rivers, and is descriptive of the locality. The pioneers soon attached the name exclusively to the south branch of the river, the other branch being known as the North River, and the main stream being called the Penecook.
Tm; SYMONDS AND KING TRUCKING House.
Like many another American town, Lancaster finds its origin in an Indian trading post. Although no contemporary mention appears of this, the first mercantile enterprise on Lancaster soil, it must have been founded before the autumn of 164.3. VVhether it preceded, or was subsequent to, the purchase of eighty square miles of land from Sholan, cannot be told. Both Symonds and King so soon disappear from the scene that they have been commonly treated in our history as mere real estate dealers, who sold their bargain at the first advantageous ofler. Is there not in the scanty facts which follow, heretofore ignored, something that suggests rather trouble, sickness and disappointment, than the harvesting of profit?
Henry,Symonds, the senior partner and capitalist of the .\'as'na\va_v trading house. planted on the mutheast slope of George hill. was an energetic citizen of Boston, and a freeman. His name heads the list of the asociates who in 1643 contracted to convert the useless marshes of the cove into a valuable tidal mill power. Before any of his well laid plans bore fruit. S_vmonds died. This via in September, 1643. His widow, Susannah, in 1644 married Isaac \Valker. which perhaps explains the prestmce of Walker's name among the Nashaway proprietors for a few years thereafter. The junior partner. Thomas King. outlived S_vmonds little more than a year. dfing December 3. 1644. He was a young man. pr;-ba':l_v under thirt_v fears of age, with a wife .\Iar_v and two young children, Slag‘ and Thomas. and lived in \\'ater1:o\v"n. His inventory, found in the Sutfolk Registry. sums but 1584 3’~ including a dwelling-house, barn. and Your acres of land in \\'aterto\vn, and ';_1.-'- 75-01‘ debts due him. He was therefore a poor man at his decease. and nothing in the brieflis: of his assets gives evidence of commercial gain at .\'ash2.v\'a_\-. save the item among the debts due. "184 of the Ind_vans." Reverend Timothy Harrington asserts that King sold all his interest here to the company. John Co\vdaIl was soon after in possession of the trucking house lot. which he sold to ]ohu Prescott, October 5, 1647. Kings widow, if we may trust the record, on .\larch 9. 164,5, married James Cutler. whose name the same year appeared among the Nashaway proprietors.
czier or protection and government upon the same terms that Pumbam and Sacoaosoc were: 50 we causing them to und.-r_<;3nd ‘he “tides .
they were solemnly received and then presented the court 26 fathom more of wampom, and the Court gave each of thema coat of two yards of cloth, and their dinner, and to them and their men every of them a cup of sack
at their departure. So they took leave and went away very joyful. [john Winthrop's History of New England, It, 189.]
1644 Wassamequin, Nashoonon, Kutchamaquin, Massaconomet and Squaw Sachem did voluntarily submit themselves to us: as appears by
their covenant subscribed with their own hands. . . . . . .
Nashncowam and Nashoonon are aliases of the Nashaway sachem usually called Sholan or Shov.-anon. Wasznnegin was sachem at Quaboag [Brookfield]. \Varehasset is john Winthrop‘s orthography of Wachusett, which in the Indian tongue was Wadchu-sctt, "the great hill."
May r644. Many of Watertown and other towns joined in the plantation at Nashaway, and having called a young man, an university scholar, one Mr Norcross to be their Minister, seven of them who were no members of any churches were desirous to gather into a church estate: but the magistrates and elders advised them first to go and build them habitations &c (for there was yet no house there) and then to take some that were members of other churches, with the consent of such churches, as formerly had been done and so proceed orderly. But the persons interested in the plantation being most of them poor men. and some of them corrupt in judgment. and others profane, it went on very slowly, so that in two years they had not three houses built there and he whom they had called
to be their minister left them for their delays.
29"‘ May 1644. The petition of Mr. Natha: Norcrosse, Rob" Childe, Stephen Day, john Fisher &c. for a plantation at Nashawake, is granted: pvided that there shall not be more land allotted to the towne or pticular men (n0tw‘7‘stan(ling their purchase of land of the Indians) then the
Gen'all Co't shall alowe .
Robert Child’s prominence in the company was perhaps Nashaway’s first misfortune. He was of Watertown, coming thither from Northfleet, Kent County, England. He had received the degree of A. M., in 1635, at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, and the degree of M. D. at Padua. Gifted with great mental force, be held ideas of man and nature in advance of the age, and was ambitious to become a leader among the people. We shall probably