Snow Crash

Front Cover
Bantam Books, 1992 - American fiction - 440 pages
223 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
First arriving on the scene in 1992 to critical acclaim, this definitive novel of the information age weaves virtual reality, Sumerian myth, and just about everything in between. Stephenson is author of the bestselling "Cryptonomicon" and "The Diamond Age". Copyright Libri GmbH. All rights reserved.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - sisyphus_happy - LibraryThing

There's not much I can say that hasn't already been said about this classic book, so I will just sum it up: Brilliant, prescient, and thrilling but...not for the faint of heart. Some very brutal and graphic scenes. I loved it but at times I got a bit disturbed and had to take a breather. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - kslade - LibraryThing

Not for all tastes. Dystopian cyberspace novel with ancient myths, and the two main characters are a hacker with a samurai-like avatar and a skateboarding delivery girl. Very strange but sort of fun. Hard to finish it. Read full review

All 11 reviews »

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1992)

Neal Stephenson, the science fiction author, was born on October 31, 1959 in Maryland. He graduated from Boston University in 1981 with a B.A. in Geography with a minor in physics. His first novel, The Big U, was published in 1984. It received little attention and stayed out of print until Stephenson allowed it to be reprinted in 2001. His second novel was Zodiac: The Eco-Thriller was published in 1988, but it was his novel Snow Crash (1992) that brought him popularity. It fused memetics, computer viruses, and other high-tech themes with Sumerian mythology. Neal Stephenson has won several awards: Hugo for Best Novel for The Diamond Age (1996), the Arthur C. Clarke for Best Novel for Quicksilver (2004), and the Prometheus Award for Best Novel for The System of the World (2005). He recently completed the The Baroque Cycle Trilogy, a series of historical novels. It consists of eight books and was originally published in three volumes and Reamde. His latest novel is entitled The Rise and Fall of D. O. D. O. Stephenson also writes under the pseudonym Stephen Bury.

Bibliographic information