« PreviousContinue »
Jarleth fucceeded in 465. He was the third Bishop of Armagh, and died in the Year 482.
Hugh Boulter, Doctor of Divinity, and Archdeacon of Surrey, was confecrated Bishop of Bristol, on the 15th of November 1719, and tranflated from thence to the Archiepifcopal See of Armagh 1724. In the scarce Years of 1727 and 1728, when a Famine threatned this Nation, he diftributed great Quantities of Corn for the Relief of the Poor throughout the Kingdom, which, it is verily believed, was a great Means of preventing the threatning Calamity, for which the House of Commons paffed a Vote of publick Thanks to him, and ordered all the Vagrant Poor to be received in the Poorhouse, where they were maintained at the private Expence of that great Prelate. He erected four Houfes at Drog beda, for the Reception of Clergymen's Widows; and purchased an Eftate for the Endowment of them. He also made a Donation of twenty-five Pounds a Year, during Pleasure, to Stephens's-Hofpital, erected for the Maintenance and Cure of the Poor, and fubfcribed fifty Pounds towards the finishing of the faid House, in which he hath also furnished a Ward for the Reception of Patients, and laid out thereon confiderable Sums of Money. He died September 27th, 1742, much lamented by all Degrees of People.
Bountiful Boulter's Name fhall ever live,
U nto the Poor and Indigent who ftill,
Lift up their Hearts, with Thanks for his good
Tullamore and Lord Mountjoy, whofe Vir-
E xert themselves, and with a Spirit divine,
Charles Cobb, was born at Winchester in England, and educated there, and afterwards at New College, Oxford; but took his Degree of Doctor of Divinity in the University of Dublin on the 9th of March 1735. He was firft made Rector of Skrine, in the Diocese of Meath, and then Dean of Ardagh; from whence he was promoted to the Sees of Killala and Achonry, by Letters Patent, dated the 30th of May 1720; then to Dromore, by Letters Patent, dated the 16th of February 1726; and af terwards to Kildare, in March 1731. With which he held the Deanery of Chrift-Church, Dublin and the Preceptory of Tally in the County of Kildare, in Commendam.
A Prelate great, is now in Dublin's See,
And in it may he long preferved be.
Honour, and Health, long Life may he poffefs,
Michael Tregury, who was confecrated Archbishop of Dublin in 1442, repaired and put in good Order the Manor House of Tawlaght, where he died in a very advanced Age on the twenty-first of December 1471, having governed this See about twenty-two Years. He was buried in St. Patrick's Church, near St Stephen's Altar, where formerly might have been feen a fpacious Monument, adorned with his Statue of elegant workmanship, on. which are infcribed, without the Aid of the Mufes.. Here's Michael the Prelate of Dublin See,
In Marble intomb'd, invoke Chrift for me..
Jefus eft Salvator meus.
This Monument was found under the Rubbish in St. Stephen's Chappel. The Cover of it was preferved by the Care of the Rev. Dr. Jonathan Swift, Dean of St. Patrick's, and the Chapter, who in the Year 1730, fixt it up in the Wall on the Left Hand as you enter the Weft Gate. He was four Times Lord Juftice of Ireland, and 16 Years Lord Chancellor.
In 1453, the melancholy News was brought to Dublin, that Conftantinople was taken by the Turks, and the Emperor Conftantine Paleologus lain. Our Archbishop was so afflicted on the Account, that he proclaimed a Faft, to be firictly obferved throughout his Diocese for three Days to gether and he himself went before the Clergy in Proceffion to Chrift-church, cloathed in Sack-cloth
James Uber was tranflated to this See from that of Meath on the 21st of March 1624. He was born in the Parish of St. Nicholas Within, Dublin, on the fourth of January 1580. His Ancestor's Name by the Father's Side was originally Nevil who came into this Kingdom withKing John,in the quality of Ufher of the Chamber; and from thence what was the Name of Office, came to be the Name of the Family: His Father's Name was Arnold Uber, who was one of the Six Clerks in Chan cery; a Perfon of good Efteem for his Integrity, and Prudence. By the Mother's Side, he was defcended from the Staniburf's. She was the Daughter of James Staniburft, who was a Lawyer of diftinction, Recorder of the City of Dublin; a Mafter in Chancery; and three Times elected Speaker of the Houfe of Commons. In 1588, when eight Years old, he was fent to a Grammar School in Dublin, which was kept by two learned Scots, James Fullerton, and James Hamilton. In 1593, having remained under their Tuition for five Years, he was entered into Trinity College, Dublin, where
he applied himself close to hisStudies, and improved himself greatly in Learning, A. D. 1607, he took his Degree of Batchelor of Divinity, having performed his Exercises with more than ordinary Applaufe. Archbishop Loftus foon after promoted him to be Chancellor of St. Patrick's, Dublin. In 1610 he was unanimously elected Provoft of Trinity College; but no Entreaties could prevail on him to accept the Charge; but by his Advice they made Choice of William Temple, who was afterwards Knighted, and for feventeen Years governed the College with great Wifdom. A. D. 1612, he took his Degree of Doctor of Divinity, being admitted by the Vice-Chancellor Doctor Hampton, Archbishop of Armagh. In February 1620, he was made Bishop of Meath; and it is very obfervable that this high Promotion rather increased than abated his Practice of Preaching. In four Years after he was promoted to the Archbishoprick of Armagh. For fome hundreds of Years there were great Contefts and Disputes for Precedence, between the Archbishops of Armagh and Dublin; but in 1634 it was finally fettled through means of this Primate, who proved the Precedence of the See of Armagh to that of Dublin, and it was accordingly fo determined by the Lord Deputy and Council, and confirmed by the King. A. D. 1643 he was nominated by the Parliament, to be one of the Affembly of Divines at Wefiminfer; but while the Matter was under Debate in the Houfe, a Question arose, whether he should be admitted or not; upon which Mr. Selden answered, that they had as good inquire, whether they had best admit Inigo Jones, the King's Architect, to the Company of Mouse-trap-makers. In 1654, he preached Mr. Selden's Funeral Sermon, in which, with great Modefty, he told his Audience, That he looked on the deceased, as fo great a Scholar, that himself was scarce worthy to carry his Books after him. This great and worthy
worthy Prelate died in 1655, on the 2 ft of March at Rygate in Surry, after thirteen or fourteen Hours Illness. Some of his lak Words were, Lord forgive me, efpecially my Sins of Omiflion. He He was embalmed, and preferved till the 17th of April, and was buried in Weftminfer in King Henry the Seventh's Chappel. He hath no Monument plac'd over him.
P rofperity attend our Paftors all,
E ncrease their Livings, whole Income fmall,
T hey whofe Lives are exemplar will extol; E mbelifhments fublime, may they enjoy, Reward them, Lord, in their divine Employ.
B leffings while they are here,may they poffefs,
E ach Lover of Religion fhould wish this;