Page images
PDF
EPUB

Constitution. Sixty-three names were subscribed to it on that day, and about fifty more were added soon after. Among

the subscribers who settled in East-Haven, or were concerned in that settlement, were William Andrews, Jasper Crayne, Thomas Gregson, William Touttle or Tuttle, Garvis Boykim, John Potter, Matthew Moulthrop, Matthias Hitchcock, and Edward Patterson. To these were added Thomas Morris and John Thompson.

On the 7th March, 1644, the colony Constitution was revised and enlarged; and then were added the names of Matthew Rowe and John Tuthill: And in July following, Alling Ball, Edmund Tooly, Thomas Robinson, sen. and jun., William Holt, Thomas Barnes, and Edward Hitchcock: And in August, Peter Mallory and Nicholas Augur. On the 4th April, 1654, George Pardee, John Potter, jun.; and in May, Matthew Moulthrop, jun., were added.

Feb. 7, 1657, John Davenport, jun. Jonathan Tuthill, and John Thompson subscribed : May 1st, 1660, Nathaniel Boykim, and Thomas Tuttle.Thomas Morris was admitted a free inhabitant 3d July, 1648; John Chedsey, 19th Feb. 1658; George Pardee, i6th June, 1662 ; and Robert Augur in 1674.

T'he town was named New Haven in 1640. The first division of lands was made within the town plat, and that vicinity, for home lots. But several enterprizing farmers turned their attention to the lands on the east side of the Quinipiack, and began to settle there, when the second division was made.

In 1639, Thomas Gregson petitioned for his second division at Solitary-Cove, and on the 5th August, 1644, 133 acres were alottted to him at that place. There he placed his family—the first in East-Haven. The next year he was appointed agent for the colony to the Parliament in England, to obtain a patent. In 1847, Mr. Gregson, and Capt. Turner, and Mr. Lamberton, and five or six more of the principal inhabitants, sailed for England, in a ship of 150 tons; and were all lost.-Jane, the widow of Thomas Gregson, in 1677, gave a deed for 33 acres of the Cove farm to her daughter Phebe, who had married Rev. John Whiting, of Hartford, which he sold 18th July, 1678, to George Pardee. And the remainder of the farm was sold to George Pardee, jun. soon after it was divided among the heirs, in 1716.

12

List of Polls, and value of Estates.

In 1640, lots were laid out on the East side the river. The proportion for the second division was 20 acres of upland for 1001. estate, and 2 acres for every poll in the family. And on 4th Nov. 1642, the town voted that those who have their farms at the river called Stoney-River, shall have liberty to make a sluice in the river for their own convenience.” Fifty acres of meadow on the east side, was granted to Rev. Mr. Samuel Eaton, 29th Aug. 1640. “Benjamin Linge and William Tuttle are allowed to have their meadow when Mr. Eaton hath his first 50 acres, viz. in the fresh Meadow towards Totokett, and Mr. Crayne is to have his also there.”-Jasper Crayne had his lot and house on the east side of the green ; William Tuttle on the south side of the fresh meadows. I cannot ascertain the spot where Benjamin Linge built. These were men of wealth, and much employed in public affairs.

Jasper Crayne sold his farm of 16 acres, to Matthew Moulthrop, 7th Sept. 1652, and removed to Totokett; and from thence his son Jasper removed to Newark, 1667. William Tuttle had five sons, all of whom sold their patrimony and removed, except Joseph; some of whose descendants still remain in the town. "Benjamin Linge died without children, and Col. Dixwell, one of King Charles' judges, married his widow.

In 1649, “ It was ordered that Mr. Davenport, pastor of the Church, shall have his meadow, and the upland for his. second division, both together, on the East side of the EastRiver, where himself shall choose, with all the conveniency the place can afford for a farme, together with the natural bounds of the place, whether by creeks or otherwise." He accordingly laid out a tract of land of about a mile square, and containing about 600 acres, above Dragon.

In 1650, Alling Ball became his farmer, and was exempted from militia service, while he continued in Mr. Davenport's employment.

The following list of polls and estates, by which the first division was regulated, will show the relative wealth of some of those who first had their farms in this town: Mr. Davenport

3 polls £1000 William Tuttle 7

450 Jasper Crayne

3

480 Thomas Gregson

6

600 Benjamin Linge 2

320

William Andrews 2

150 John Cooper

3

30 John Potter

4

25 Matthias Hitchcock 3

50 Matthew Moulthrop 1

10 Edward Patterson 1

40 Richard Berkley

4

20 In 1643, pieces of eight were reckoned at five shillings and eight pence. Wainpum, in 1640, was fixed at six for a penny.

Totokett being settled about this time, in 1649, a difficulty arose concerning the boundary between the two towns,* which was committed to an arbitration ; but it appears that the business was still unfinished in 1659.

In 1644, a bridge was built over Stoney-river on the road to Totokett, by William Andrews, for which he charged the town of New-Haven £3. 8. 9.

The ferry at Red-Rock, had been kept by Francis Brown; but in 1650, George Pardee took it, and he was afterwards allowed to build a house there at his own expense. And in 1670 the ferry farm was granted to him, which was left by him to his son George, and continues still in the possession of his descendants. The rates of ferriage established in 1671, were as follows: For a man and horse, sixpence. If the horse swam over, three pence. Afterwards it was reduced to fourpence,—and a footman, twopence.

In 1651, William Tuttle, and Benjamin Linge, and Matthew Moulthrop, obtained 14 acres of the fresh meadow.

They and the Governor had 20 acres of it. John Potter and Ellis Mew, also obtained 20 acres of in. In 1662, John Potter, obtained a piece of land upon which to set his

made a grant

* Sept. 5, 1640. The General Court, at New-Haven, of Totokett to Mr. Samuel Eaton, brother of Governor Eaton, upon the condition of his procuring a number of his friends from England, to make a settlement in that tract of country. Mr. Eaton failed in fulfilling the conditions.—About three years after, the subject was acted upon thus : “ Totokett, a place fit for a small plantation, betwixt New-Haven and Guildford, and purchased from the Indians; was granted to Mr. Swayne and some others in Wethersfield, they repaying the charges, which are betwixt £12 and 13, and joining in one ju. risdiction with New-Haven and the forenamed plantations, upon the same fundamental agreement settled in Oct. 1643, which they duly considering accepted.” The settlement began in 1644.

[N. Haven records.]

blacksmith shop. About the same time, John Tuttle, jun. sold to him his house and home lot-it was the same on which Josiah Bradley now lives. And about the same time William Luddington died, and his widow bought of John Tuttle, jun. land at Stoney-river, which was a part of his patrimony.

John Cooper came to Stoney-river about the time of the building of the Iron works, of which he appears to have been the agent and overseer.

In 1662, Samuel Heminway appeared and obtained land for a home lot, which was not far from the furnace. Thomas Barnes bought of John Harriman south of Muddy-river, 1662--and in 1664, petitioned the town for a piece of land at the Iron works, for Ralph Russel, which, by the advice of the townsmen was granted. That lot is now occupied by Thomas Barnes. John Russel, his brother, come here about the same time, but I cannot ascertain the spot he located. William Fowler owned land on the east side, and in 1676 he confirmed by deed to John Austin, land, that he had previously bought of widow Jones. Anna, widow of William Andrews, sold to Matthew Moulthrop, sen. a piece of land at Fowler's Cove, 1667. This name, and that of Fowler's Creek, were both derived from William Fowler, who owned land or meadow adjacent to both places.

The purchase and settlement of the great neck, or Southend, appears next in order.

William Andrews, John Cooper, Sergt. Richard Berkley, Isaac Whitehead, and Nathaniel Merriman, petitioned for land beyond Solitary-Cove, in 1645, but their petition was not granted. In 1649, William Andrews alone applied for the same tract, but failed. In 1651, Richard Berkley renewed the application for himself. But the town refused to grant him the land, because other men had also applied for it.

On the 3d Dec. 1651, the application was again renewed, and it was finally “ argued and ordered that; William Andrews, Richard Berkley, Matthias Hitchcock, Edward Patterson, and Edward Hitchcock, shall have the neck of land by the sea-side, beyond the Cove, and all the meadows belonging to it below the Island with a rock upon it. They are to have the neck entire to themselves by paying to the Town one penny an acre for 500 acres, for

every

and for their meadows as other men do. They are to settle

rate;

men.

and dwell upon it at spring next, and improve it by way of farming for getting corn, and breeding of Cattle, and not to dispose of it by letting or selling, without the Town's consent. And if they, or any of them should remove out of the plantation within five years, they are to leave the lands to the Town, (if they will accept it) they paying for improvements as it is then worth, being appraised by indifferent

And if their cattle do damage by eating the meadows the farmers now have at Stoney River, it is agreed, (Mr. Linge and Mr. Tuttle being present) that a fence shall be made to secure it from their cattle, which is to be made and maintained betwixt them; that is, the farmers on the neck half, and the farmers at Stoney River (who are concerned in it) the other half.

“ Further the farmers upon the neck promise (that seeing they have the neck entire to themselves) if any of their cattle get out of the pasture without the neck, they will make a fence to keep them in.".

The taxes laid upon this land seem to have constituted a kind of rent, and being considered by the tenants as very burdensome, they petitioned for relief, but could obtain no abatement.

William Andrews sold his share in the neck to James Denison and John Asbill, 1663. John Asbill sold his part to J. Denison, 1689. Thomas Smith married the daughter and only child of Edward Patterson ; and so became possessor of his share. In 1662, Richard Berkley sold his are to Thomas Harrison ; and the same year, Harrison sold his share at South-end and land at Muddy river, to John Thompson. The Hitchcock family sold their part, and all died or removed from East-Haven.

The South-end men still feeling uncomfortable under their

one-penny tax ; on the 3d May 1689, Thomas Smith, James Denison, Eliakim Hitchcock and John Thompson, proposed to the town a final payment, instead of the yearly rent for their lands, which was referred to the towns-men : And on the 4th November, “ In pursuance of the town order made in May last, the towns-men having treated with the five South-end men about the neck of land, for which they were to pay £25 in money, declared that the said men are willing to pay £15 in money to the town, to clear off the incumbrance, and the yearly payment aforesaid ; the town inaking over the said neck of land by their grant, or deed

« PreviousContinue »