« PreviousContinue »
the labours, trials, and perseverance of the first generations of the colony,—and the rise and progress of the Church and worship of God in the town, possess sufficient importance to engage the attention of, at least, the descendants of the ancient colonists, who bequeathed to their posterity the precious fruits of their toils and sufferings. An acquaintance also with the genealogy of their families, and with the
progress of disease and death among themn, cannot certainly be an object of indifference. These matters are, however, so local, that it is not expected they will excite much interest among those who have never had any connection with the town, or with its inhabitants. The patronage of this publication, therefore, will be chiefly derived from East-Haven families. suitable remuneration for the labour of the compiler, is expected from the small patronage which it will receive.
The Records of the village of East-Haven commence in the year 1680. But these are imperfect. The records of the Church, previous to the ordination of the Rev. Mr. Street in 1755, are lost: and the oldest monuments in the present cemetery, are dated 1712. These records and monuments were all read. Then the records of New Haven Colony, of the Town and Probate offices of New Haven, were examined, and also the monuments of the old cemetery of that town. Some materials were gleaned from the Town and Church records of Branford, NorthBranford, Northford, North-Haven, and Wallingford. Several documents were drawn from the Secretary of State's office: and considerable infor
mation of a family nature, was derived from the aged people of this town. Yet, among so many names and dates, and so many subjects, errors and imperfections will doubtless be discoyered : and some may find fault with the style and manner of execution. In reply, the compiler would only observe, that he has done the best he could to render the work accurate, amusing, and useful.
In respect to the dates, there is no difference observed between the old, or Julian style, and the new, or Gregorian style. The new style was adopted in the British dominions, in the year 1752. All the dates in this work, previous to the 14th of September of that year, are old style ; and all the dates after the 14th of September, 1752, are new style. It was also customary to begin the year on the 25th of March. Between the 1st of January and the 25th of March, a part of the preceding year and a part of the new year were reckoned. Thus, Jan. 30, 1689, was written 1688–9, or 1688/9. But this mode of reckoning does not affect the dates as used in this work. The year is uniformly treated as beginning on the 1st day of January.
East-Haven, Sept. 1824,
Page 13, line 2d from bottom, for in read it.
14, line 8th from bottom, for argued read agreed.
ginning of the line.
New-Haven purchased and settled :- Then the tract on the
East side of the River—the Cove—Stoney River and South-end, Foxon-and Dragon.
DURING the reign of James I. and Charles I. kings of England, the Puritans were subjected to a destructive oppression, and a furious persecution for conscience sake; and seeing no end to their sufferings, projected settlements in the wilderness of America, as a place of retreat for the Church of God, and where the salvation and freedom of themselves and of their posterity might be promoted and secured. Hence large companies left their native land and crossed the Atlantic. Among them were persons of wealth, learning, and distinguished piety and eminence.
On the 26th July, 1637, Rev. John Davenport, Mr. Samuel Eaton, Theophilus Eaton, Edward Hopkins, Thomas Gregson, and their company arrived at Boston. They were invited to continue there, or in that vicinity. This proposal they rejected, for they were determined to settle a new colony. Accordingly, in the fall of that year, Mr. Eaton and others explored the country along the sea-coast, west of Connecticut river, and finally fixed upon Quinipiack, as the place of their settleinent. On the 30th March, 1638, the company sailed from Boston, and in about two weeks arrived safe at the place of their destination.
On the 18th April, the first Lord's day after their arrival, the people attended public worship under a large oak, and Mr. Davenport preached to them from Matth. vi. 1. Soon after their arrival, they held a day of fasting and prayer; at the close of which, they solemnly entered into a plantation
covenant, binding themselves, " that as in matters that concern the gathering and ordering of a Church, so also in all publick offices which concern civil order ; as choice of Magistrates and officers, making and repealing laws, dividing allotments of inheritance, and all things of like nature, they would all of them, be ordered by the rules which the scripture held forth to them.” By this covenant they were regulated the first
year. On the 24th Nov. 1638, Theophilus Eaton, Esq. Mr. Davenport, and other English planters, made their first purchase of Momauguin, sachem of that part of the country, and his counsellors. The English promised to protect Momauguin and his Indians from their enemies, and that they should have sufficient planting ground between the harbor and Saybrook fort. This ground was located in East-Haven, from the Old Ferry point or Red-Rock, to the SolitaryCove, on the west on the north, the road from the ferry to Stoney-River-on the east, from the said road along the foot of Grave or Fort-Hill and the road that runs from Bridge-Swamp to the Cove. The purchasers also gave the sachem and his counsellors_“12 coats of English cloth, 12 alchemy spoons, 12 hatchets, 12 hoes, two dozen of knives, 12 porringers, and 4 cases of French knives and scissors." This contract was signed by Momauguin and his council on the one part, and Theophilus Eaton and John Davenport on the other part. Thomas Stanton was interpreter. By the oppression of the Mohawks and Pequods, this tribe was then reduced to about 40 men.
On the 11th Dec. 1638, they purchased another large tract, which lay principally north of the former purchase. This was bought of Montowese, son of the great Sachem at Mattabeseck, (now Middletown.) It was 10 miles long, north and south, and 13 miles in breadth. It extended 8 miles east of the river Quinipiack, and 5 miles west of it. For this tract they gave 13 coats, and allowed the Indians ground to plant, and liberty to hunt on it. These purchases “included all the lands within the ancient limits of the old towns of New-Haven, Branford, and Wallingford, and almost the whole contained within the present limits of those towns, and of the towns of East-Haven, Woodbridge, Cheshire, Hamden and North-Haven.”
On the 4th June 1639, all the free planters of Quinipiack convened in a large barn of Mr. Newman's, and formed their