« PreviousContinue »
drawn north and south from Malpais; on the north by Valencia County, and a line running from thence east with out interfering with the boundary of San Miguel County (This shows that the southern line of San Miguel County had been extended to the south in such a manner as to take in the eastern part of Bernalillo County and Valencia County but no law to that effect has been found although the maps of the period show this enlarged San Miguel County); on the east by the Texas line; and on the south by an east and west line passing through the head of El Ojo de Tula
Colfax County was created January 25, 1869. It was bounded on the north by the Colorado line; on the east by the Texas line; on the south by the Rayado Grant; and on the west by Taos County.22
The boundaries of Santa Fé County were extended Jan. uary 18, 1869. The new line ran from Nambé Mountain westward in such a manner as to include Las Truchas precinct of Rio Arriba County in Santa Fé County, and from the south side of the said precinct along the Rio del Quemado, including all of the houses in the canyon to the point where the Rio del Quemado empties into the Rio del Potrero, thence westward along the Rio de la Cañada to the Rio Grande; and thence southward to the lap of the Mesita de San Ildefonso. It was probably due to the obscurity of this description that this law was repealed the following year, January 13, 1870.23
The boundary between Doña Ana County and Socorro County was redefined January 10, 1870. The new line ran eastwardly from the northeastern corner of Grant County to the Ojo del Muerto near Fort McRae on the Jornado, and from thence to the eastern boundary of Doña Ana County and Socorro County.24
21 New Mexico. Session Laws, 1868–69, p. 20. 22Ibid., p. 47.
23 New Mexico. Session Laws, 1868–69, p. 28; New Mexico. Ses bion Laws, 1869–70, p. 40. See Map No. 4.
24 Ibid., p. 36.
The southern boundary of Bernalillo County was changed January 13, 1870. The new line began at the southern foot of the Loma de Isleta where it strikes the Rio Grande and ran east to the Cañon del Infierno, and from thence followed the old line of Bernalillo County and Valencia County.25
The Socorro-Doña Ana County boundary was redefined December 29, 1871. The new line was described as running eastwardly from the northeastern corner of Grant County to one mile south of Caballo Mountain in the Jornado del Muerto and thence to the eastern boundary of Doña Ana County and Socorro County.26
Santa Ana County was abolished January 13, 1876 and the area annexed to Bernalillo County. This was the only case in which one of the original counties disappeared from the map.??
The boundary line between Mora County and Colfax County was redefined January 13, 1876. The new line ran from the eastern border of New Mexico through the center of Township Twenty-three north to the Taos County line.2
Lincoln County was enlarged February 15, 1878, the new county including within its boundaries the eastern part of Doña Ana County. The boundary followed the southern line of Lincoln County to the parallel of twentyeight degrees and thirty minutes West of Washington and followed that line to the Texas border on the south. All of the land to the east of this line was made a part of Lincoln County.29
The western part of Taos County was annexed to Rio Arriba County February 10, 1880. All of Taos County west of the western side of the public road running from Hot Springs to the Rio Arriba County line, and thence toward Conejos in Colorado as far as the New Mexico
25Ibid., p. 44.
border, was made a part of Rio Arriba County. The line between Taos County and Rio Arriba County was further defined February 10, 1880. The new line ran from the point where the boundary between Taos County and Rio Arriba County crossed the Rio Grande north to the house of Antonio Domingo Lucero, thence west to the summit of the Hot Springs Mountain, thence north to the mouth of Cañada de los Comanches, thence following the wagon road to the Colorado line in such a manner that the Hot Springs and the houses there should remain in Taos County.30
The dividing line between Socorro County and Doña Ana County was changed February 11, 1880. The new line ran one mile south of the house of Tomas Gonzales on the Rio Grande, thence southwest to a point one-quarter of a mile south of Ojito del Cuervo; thence west to a point one mile west of the Ojo de Berrendo; thence in a northwest direction to the ranchos called the Ojo del Berrendo, Cienega de los Paseños, Jaraloso, Enciso, Cienaga de los Apaches, Las Perchas, and Ojo Caliente to a point on a line with the northern line of Grant County so that the above named places should be in Socorro County, and that Hillsboro and Santa Barbara should be in Doña Ana County; and to the east from the place of beginning of the above described line to a point a few miles north and west of the town of Tularosa in Doña Ana County.31
The eastern line of Grant County was changed February 12, 1880. The new line ran between Ranges 7 and 8 West as formerly, except that the country within a radius of five miles of Hillsboro was included in Doña Ana County.32
The boundary line between Mora County and San Miguel County was redefined January 17, 1882. The new line ran from a point five hundred yards north of the house of Leandro Sanchez, at Penasco Blanco, thence westward to the corner of Santa Fé County and Rio Arriba County; and to the east from Penasco Blanco to the fall and source of the Arroyo de la Jara, thence to its junction with the Rio Sapello, thence down the Rio Sapello to the old bridge and over El Sapellocito; thence east to the Pinos Altos, all settlements on both sides of the Mora River to remain in Mora County from Pinos Altos up and Pinos Altos down; thence in a direct line to the Texas boundary.33
The boundary between Colfax County and Mora County
80 New Mexico. Session Laws, 1880, p. 103. See Map No. 5.
was changed January 31, 1882. The new boundary ran on the north line of Township 23 North in Ranges 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19 East; thence along the Range line between Ranges 19 and 20 East to the line as established January 13, 1876.84
The Santa Fé County boundary line was redefined March 4, 1882. The new line started from the corner of Rio Arriba, Taos, Mora, and San Miguel Counties; thence
84Ibid., p. 158.